Frankly, the desire to establish this blog is nothing more than to force myself to write and share my thoughts in English. Besides that, one of my foreign friends from the Philippines whom I met in Sabah recently have been telling me that I should write in English as she didn’t understand Malay (my other blog which was fully written in Malay can be reach by clicking here).

As far as I can remember, the last time I’m using English as a medium of writing was four years ago; which is to complete my assignments for English subject. Since then, I only use English to write engineering reports and answering my examinations.

My interest in English literature started while I am in form 4 (those were the days where you have to study Shakespeare’s Sonnet 18), thanks to Miss Rabiatul Adawiyah, my former English teacher. Without her encouragement, I never knew that learning English can be so fun and easy. Although I have experienced staying in the United States for almost two years, my ability in applying English orally and in writings is not so well.

And so, in order for me to improve these weaknesses, I have started to force myself to read English newspapers after I have finished reading a Malay edition of it. And this practice remains until now and the results are amazing. During my days in primary school, I used to be a voracious reader of Malay story books (investigation series etc.) but after completing my secondary school, I started to read English novels. One of those books that I remembered the most is Mitch Albom’s Tuesdays With Morrie. Starting from that book, I started to enjoy myself reading and analyzing English novels.

Today, English is no more an alien to me although before this I am a bit inferior to use it as my medium of communication. Thanks to my hobby–reading!

